The Art of Dae Ryun - Building the Foundation

Sun, 03/02/2014 - 1:00am — Grandmaster

The Art of Dae Ryun - Building the Foundation

In this series, we are going to explore the art of Dae Ryun (sparring) and why it is a critical part of your Tang Soo Do training.

When speaking about Dae Ryun, it is important to understand that there are many different types of Dae Ryun. These can be divided into five general categories including:

1. Yak Sok Dae Ryun – Pre-arranged sparring

2. Ja Yu Dae Ryun – Free Sparring

3. Da Soo Dae Ryun – Group Sparring

4. Shi Hap Dae Ryun – Tournament Sparring

5. Shil Ki Dae Ryun – Reality or Practical Application Sparring

Each category above has its own unique elements which we will cover. Similarly, each category utilizes different strategy and tactical components. This is why it is important to study the complete of art of Dae Ryun.

The Five Major Considerations of Dae Ryun

The student of Dae Ryun understands that there are certain foundational skills or core competencies that must be mastered to become excellent at sparring. These include:

1. Timing

2. Endurance

3. Distance

4. Speed

5. Targeting

Each of the above foundational skills are not only important to the art of Dae Ryun but to every other aspect of Tang Soo Do training as well. The author uses the acronym “TED’S T” to teach these all important core competencies.

We will explore these further in part 2 of this five part series with a special emphasis on Yak Sok Dae Ryun or pre-arranged sparring.


Tang Soo!!